• Jun : 16 : 2017 - SPOTLIGHT: FAR AWAY STABLES – New Album ‘Between Rage and Serenity’
  • May : 31 : 2017 - Eclipses for Eyes – POLARIS Album Review / Video
  • Feb : 4 : 2017 - STARSET – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 19 : 2016 - SILVERSUN PICKUPS – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 12 : 2016 - Spotlight: COLD SUMMER Release ‘Fight To Survive’ EP (Listen & Watch) [Post-Hardcore, Punk Rock]

For those who recognize Anton Kellner from his days as the abrasive front man for the hardcore outfit Holding On To Hope are likely to be in for a shock when they hear his honeyed, alt-country outpourings on You Were The Fire, the debut album from multi-instrumentalist Kellner and his Lone Star backing band, comprised of Josh Lucas and Nolan Perry.   Add to that the guest spots from ex-Taking   Read More ...

Categories: Music News, Reviews

I’m very fond of these guys and I can’t take full credit for their breakthrough, however we did do an exclusive interview with them back in Feb ’13.   If you haven’t gotten their album “Through The Deep Dark Valley” it is still FREE to download – and you can check out our review here, too!   Enjoy!!       Facebook Twitter

I’m a huge fan of these guys. They’re a dynamic folk/indie/rock group from Denton, TX and have been hailed by NPR music and have become a favorite to watch by Paste magazine. Hear their new single “Disappear” off of their forthcoming sophomore album out later this year.   Check out all of our previous coverage and an interview with the band.         http://www.serynsound.com/ https://www.facebook.com/serynsound

Categories: Listen, News

Good day, Kickers!!!   Amazing news from Swear and Shake, a New York quartet self described as a “Folk with Indie Cred.” The group has just released a new single, “Brother,” and to commemorate the joyous event are sharing it with you lovely folks (via we awkward-looking folks) FREE FOR NOTHING!!! All you need to do is click on the image below, and you’ll be magically transported to a realm   Read More ...

Categories: Free Music, Listen, Music News

Laura Marling emerges with her fourth record, Once I Was An Eagle: an album so expansive and thrilling it’s no wonder she can’t shrug off comparisons to Joni Mitchell and Bob Dylan even at the ripe age of 23. If you’re already fans of these two legends, don’t pass on this record thinking you’ve heard it all before. Eagle destroys your expectations of contemporary folk while completely reinvigorating the dying   Read More ...

Categories: Music News, Reviews

Rating: 8.5/10   One of the great Holy Grails of the modern-age record store employee is discovering a doppelgänger group. Not to be confused with a fusion or hybrid band (i.e. Audioslave, Velvet Revolver, Hell Yeah, Army of Anyone), a doppelgänger band is a collective that bears such a striking sonic similitude to another group that you can essentially exist in a state of perpetual new music between the two…   Read More ...

Categories: Music News, Reviews

As I mentioned in last month’s review of the stellar debut album from Ross Wilson’s Blue Rose Code, I’m a fiend for folk tunes. Thus, whenever I am able to speak with other folks who work in the medium I leap at the chance. As such, the offer to speak with Ross about his struggles, the creation of such a stirring set of songs and the possibility to shine a   Read More ...

Categories: Interviews, Music News

Dubbed ‘Orchestrated Post Pop’ Portland’s TYPHOON posted a new single from their upcoming album. “Dreams of Cannibalism” from Typhoon’s forthcoming full length “White Lighter” Out 8/20/2013 on Roll Call Records                    

Categories: Listen, News

If your Monday blood is in need of a pick-me-up, try a little folk-rock infusion courtesy of London-based, Edinburgh-born singer/songwriter Ross Wilson’s creation, Blue Rose Code. The band is set to release their debut album North Ten early this summer via Reveal Records.   To record the album Ross teamed up with legendary bassist Danny Thompson (Kate Bush, John Martyn, Talk Talk) and singer/violinist Lizzie Ogle to create the soulful   Read More ...

Categories: News

Twin Falls, Twin Forks a new indie-folk-pop band featuring Chris Carabba (of Dashboard Confessional) on guitar/vocals, Suzie Zeldin (of The Narrative) on mandolin/vocals,  bassist Jonathan Clark, and drummer Ben Homola (Bad Books) have posted their first track on soundcloud:     https://soundcloud.com/twin-forks-music   Catch the group live at SXSW: Weds 3/13 @ Central Presbyterian Church: set time TBD Fri 3/15 @ Whole Foods: 4:00 PM – Quantum Collective showcase Fri 3/15   Read More ...

Categories: Listen, News

The Oh Hello’s is the dynamic duo of Tyler and Maggie Heath, an independent self-producing brother-sister eclectic-folk-rock duo from San Marcos, TX. They released their stunning debut album Through The Deep, Dark Valley on October 30th 2012 and with what little press they may get, they deserve much more.   To read more about the band’s history, the origin of the band name and more, check out our review of the album   Read More ...

Categories: Interviews, Music News

Connect with AMPKICKER


  • OVG News - Gaming News You Need To Know
  • Whipping Post - Handmade Leather Goods for the Musician
  • Write For Ampkicker
  • Archive

  • Categories

  • Search

  • Links