• Jun : 16 : 2017 - SPOTLIGHT: FAR AWAY STABLES – New Album ‘Between Rage and Serenity’
  • May : 31 : 2017 - Eclipses for Eyes – POLARIS Album Review / Video
  • Feb : 4 : 2017 - STARSET – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 19 : 2016 - SILVERSUN PICKUPS – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 12 : 2016 - Spotlight: COLD SUMMER Release ‘Fight To Survive’ EP (Listen & Watch) [Post-Hardcore, Punk Rock]

Rating: 9/10   I discovered these guys from a ‘suggested page’ from a different band that I had recently liked on Facebook. I was intrigued by the name and the imagery and have a pretty good eye and picking stuff I think I would enjoy. Ourfathers was a pleasant surprise and overwhelmingly fulfilling. Hailing from San Fancisco their debut EP ‘Movements‘ is brutally elegant.   I hopped over to their   Read More ...

Categories: Listen, Music News, Reviews

On Leaving & Being Left Behind by Father MountainRating: 8.5/10 For Fans Of: Manchester Orchestra, Balance and Composure   Bio: Originally conceived as a one-off project before members moved on to various non-musical pursuits, Father Mountain came out swinging with the self-released On Leaving and Being Left Behind EP in the fall of 2014. The five track release seems only to scratch the surface of the Kentucky band’s multidimensional sound,   Read More ...

Categories: Listen, Music News, Reviews

New Jersey indie-post-rock band Athletics uploaded a video of their entire live set from Boulder Coffee House:   Athletics at Boulder Coffee House from Jeremy Steinkamp on Vimeo.   Their music was recently featured in an independent film titled Missing Pieces. You can donate/stream/download (for free) the film at their website www.findyourmissingpieces.com. The film stars Mark Boone Jr. (Batman Begins, Memento, ‘Sons of Anarchy’) and Melora Walters (Magnolia, Cold Mountain,   Read More ...

Categories: Music Videos, News

Hailing from Westchester/Purchase, NY, Moving Mountains have toured around the U.S. and Europe, sharing the stage with bands such at Thursday, Thrice, Caspian, and Coheed & Cambria. They’ve released 3 EP’s and 2 LP’s and are currently in the mixing phase of their third LP.   When I first heard Moving Mountains, it was the song “With One’s Heart In One’s Mouth” from the EP Foreward. The track blew me   Read More ...

Categories: Interviews, Music News

Well, dear readers, another year is nearly in the books. As we have managed to escape another prophesied apocalypse, I suppose it’s time to focus on the small things- like my annual summation. Here are the albums that really stood out amongst the throng for this year of our lord, 2012. Thank you for sticking with us and taking the time to read our silly contributions to the critical zeitgeist.   Read More ...

Categories: Music News

2012 was a great year for music. There were plenty of great albums released and I would encourage you to explore these listed below (and artists similar to them.)   Thanks for listening!     1. Athletics – Who You Are Is Not Enough   Incredible emotion, passion and power flow rich through this album. Must have – and it’s FREE.   Our review here   2. Lo There Do   Read More ...

Categories: Music News

Everyone loves free music!!   This is a great introduction to the post-rock genre and really opened my eyes and ears to the depth and power of the genre. Deep Elm has a great catalog and features some front-runners of this new age of rock.  It features bands like Athletics, The Appleseed Cast, Goonies Never Say Die, and Coma Recovery   So, what is “Post-Rock“?   post • rock [pohst   Read More ...

Categories: Listen, News

Athletics has released a new album titled ‘Who You Are Is Not Enough‘ on June 26th.  Athletics have carved out a sweet spot in the post-rock genre, combining soothing grooves that then build and apex into hurricane force dynamics, and the new album plays every strength of the band. The new album has been released on a ‘pay what you want’ system through bandcamp. The band wanted to give back   Read More ...

Categories: Music News, Reviews

Post-rock band Athletics revealed a new song off of their upcoming album ‘Who You Are Is Not Enough’ to be release June 26th.        

Categories: Listen, Music News

Athletics is an epic post-rock band hailing from Asbury Park, NJ, comprised of Garrett Yaeger (vocals, guitar, piano), John Luby (bass, vocals), Howie Cohen (vocals, guitar), Jimmy Boyce (guitar), John Cannon (drums). Their debut album Why Aren’t I Home was released in Oct 2010 via Deep Elm Records.   They’re recently posted a teaser for their sophomore album Who You Are Is Not Enough to be released 6.26.12   The   Read More ...

Categories: Interviews, Music News

Connect with AMPKICKER


  • OVG News - Gaming News You Need To Know
  • Whipping Post - Handmade Leather Goods for the Musician
  • Write For Ampkicker
  • Archive

  • Categories

  • Search

  • Links