• Jun : 16 : 2017 - SPOTLIGHT: FAR AWAY STABLES – New Album ‘Between Rage and Serenity’
  • May : 31 : 2017 - Eclipses for Eyes – POLARIS Album Review / Video
  • Feb : 4 : 2017 - STARSET – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 19 : 2016 - SILVERSUN PICKUPS – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 12 : 2016 - Spotlight: COLD SUMMER Release ‘Fight To Survive’ EP (Listen & Watch) [Post-Hardcore, Punk Rock]

The Swedish duo A Swarm of the Sun have recently released their second album, “The Rifts“, on January 30, 2015. It is a bleak and beautiful journey through the innermost landscapes of the heart and soul. A brooding album about losing hope, dreams falling apart, isolation and final moments of clarity and redemption. Unquestionably, this is the band’s darkest and most emotional album to date.


It’s like watching dancers in slow motion, and covered in tar, in a barren wasteland, gorgeous and dreadful; irresistible. The songs are dense and layered with profound struggles and hopes. It something that puts you into a black cloud of thought, with the driving guitar tearing apart the darkness like a beam of light. It’s like riding a colossus and pummeling the earth until you’re completely engulfed. A Swarm of the Sun will take you to those places with their foreboding sound, and take you on a journey unlike any other.


A Swarm of the Sun is Erik Nilsson and Jakob Berglund. “The Rifts” is written and produced by the band, and recorded by Erik Nilsson at Garaget Studio and The Church of Brännkyrka. Drums are performed and recorded by Karl Daniel Lidén (Vaka, The Old Wind) at Studio Gröndahl. The album is mixed and mastered by the acclaimed Magnus Lindberg (Cult of Luna, Refused, Khoma, Pg.lost). All artwork, concepts and cover design, as well as a number of videos that enhance and complete the experience of the album, are directed and produced by Jakob. “The Rifts” is released through Erik’s own label Version Studio Records. It will be released as a luxury double-vinyl LP, an eight-panel thick cardboard stock digifile CD and through a number of digital platforms.


Contributing musicians are Anders Carlström (The Isolation Process) on bass, Karl Daniel Lidén on drums, Anna Carlsson on vocals, Minna Heimo on pipe organ and Robin Bergh (Aoria) on vibraphone.



A Swarm of the Sun debuted in 2007 with the EP “The King of Everything“, and released the critically acclaimed full-length album “Zenith” in 2010. Erik runs the record label Version Studio Records, and is also a member of Aoria. Jakob produces and directs visual art and moving images, most recently music videos for label mates The Isolation Process and black-metal act Astrophobos.



A Swarm of the Sun




Related posts:


Leave a Reply

Connect with AMPKICKER


  • OVG News - Gaming News You Need To Know
  • Whipping Post - Handmade Leather Goods for the Musician
  • Write For Ampkicker
  • Archive

  • Categories

  • Search

  • Links