• Jun : 16 : 2017 - SPOTLIGHT: FAR AWAY STABLES – New Album ‘Between Rage and Serenity’
  • May : 31 : 2017 - Eclipses for Eyes – POLARIS Album Review / Video
  • Feb : 4 : 2017 - STARSET – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 19 : 2016 - SILVERSUN PICKUPS – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 12 : 2016 - Spotlight: COLD SUMMER Release ‘Fight To Survive’ EP (Listen & Watch) [Post-Hardcore, Punk Rock]

The Currys by Andrew OwenSome would argue that music has the ability to heal. But what makes this possible? Is it brilliant vocal harmonies that speak directly to your heart? If so, THE CURRYS debut album “Follow” has hit the nail on the head.

The opener “Wrecking Ball,” barrels out of the speakers with a take it or leave it attitude. The lyrics center around a friendship that has been jeopardized by the careless behavior of the narrator’s accomplice. The next song, “Water From The Well” offers something new, the feeling of peace and comfort through the Currys amazing vocal harmonies.
The centerpiece “Follow” gives the listener a chance to reflect on previous tracks as well as enjoy the simplicity of the tight knit family vocals. Another track that offers the same reflective qualities is “Catharsis.” It’s not just another burn it down song, it’s something more, portraying the struggle of moving on and that’s where true healing takes place. Hands down my favorite song on the album.
Another great song that offers something different is “Nothing Good.” Though the tempo and bouncing rhythm afford one the feelings of joy, the subject matter is a different story. Self-negating lines like “cut me out, I’m spreading like a cancer” offset the up-tempo nature of the song, making for a welcomed juxtaposition. And who doesn’t enjoy a knee slappin’ fast paced fiddle tune? This ends the album on a very positive note that leaves the listener energized.
Every song on this album gets better and better each time you listen to it, inviting you to sing along and providing release from the inconvenient stresses of everyday life. The album is set to be released nationally on 4-29-14 and can be pre-ordered on their Bandcamp site. A must Follow.
– Ryder Brooks


Related posts:


Leave a Reply

Connect with AMPKICKER


  • OVG News - Gaming News You Need To Know
  • Whipping Post - Handmade Leather Goods for the Musician
  • Write For Ampkicker
  • Archive

  • Categories

  • Search

  • Links