• Jun : 16 : 2017 - SPOTLIGHT: FAR AWAY STABLES – New Album ‘Between Rage and Serenity’
  • May : 31 : 2017 - Eclipses for Eyes – POLARIS Album Review / Video
  • Feb : 4 : 2017 - STARSET – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 19 : 2016 - SILVERSUN PICKUPS – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 12 : 2016 - Spotlight: COLD SUMMER Release ‘Fight To Survive’ EP (Listen & Watch) [Post-Hardcore, Punk Rock]

Rating: 8.5/10


BLACK MAP is dredg guitarist Mark Engles, The Trophy Fire singer/guitarist Ben Flanagan and ex-Crosses drummer Chris Robyn.  DRIVER EP available on iTunes February 25.


For Fans Of: Thrice, Queens Of the Stone Age, dredg, Helmet


This EP is riddled with huge distorted guitars that can take off at a moments notice and soar through a blissful clean sky. Vocalist Ben Flanagan swirls between smooth and solid to the blistering fury to match the tension of the instrumentation. This trio erupts track after track into musical passion that never lets up.



1.  I’m Just the Driver – Maybe the heaviest track on the album with the blistering vocals. Fantastic opening.
2.  Gold – This one has a roller coaster of a melody, another fast-tempo to match the previous track. First time I heard this it reminded me of the vocal styles of Queens Of The Stone Age “So you count your gold, while shivering, crying in the rain
3.  Head for the Hills – This song gets a little mellower in the verses and highlights the signature dredg-esque reverberated guitar style of Engles throughout. Also great clean vocal work by Flanagan.
4.  Ropes – Picks up the tempo a little bit and has a Thrice-esque feel “Lets tie our ropes together, so tight they never sever. Watch the sky go black and red now.”

Related posts:


Leave a Reply

Connect with AMPKICKER


  • OVG News - Gaming News You Need To Know
  • Whipping Post - Handmade Leather Goods for the Musician
  • Write For Ampkicker
  • Archive

  • Categories

  • Search

  • Links