• Jun : 16 : 2017 - SPOTLIGHT: FAR AWAY STABLES – New Album ‘Between Rage and Serenity’
  • May : 31 : 2017 - Eclipses for Eyes – POLARIS Album Review / Video
  • Feb : 4 : 2017 - STARSET – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 19 : 2016 - SILVERSUN PICKUPS – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 12 : 2016 - Spotlight: COLD SUMMER Release ‘Fight To Survive’ EP (Listen & Watch) [Post-Hardcore, Punk Rock]

FIDLAR – “FIDLAR” Album Review

By: Erin Lorraine


FIDLARAccording to modern society, punk’s still dead, but if you asked a certain group of 4 guys from Los Angeles if that were true, they’d prove to you that punk’s alive and well. They’re name is FIDLAR which is an acronym for Fuck It Dog, Life’s A Risk. Don’t let the profanity fool you, while their lyrics are full of four letter words, they are also full of emotion and the true reality of The City of Angels. FIDLAR is modern day punk rock and thank goodness for their breath of fresh beer.

At the beginning of the year, FIDLAR released their first album, a self-titled that does the band’s full name true justice. “Cheap Beer”, the first track off the album is, in so many words, the definition of FIDLAR. With such raw sound and a surfer punk guitar riff, “Cheap Beer” is an anthem for anyone who’s been broke with their friends and thought, “Fuck it dog, life’s a risk! Let’s drink cheap beer!” Forgetting responsibilities, forgetting school, and just making memories you may or may not remember. Any 21 year old (because nobody drinks underage and I can’t condone that sort of thing…) who’s been judged for drinking a Steel Reserve can relate to the angry chorus of “I drink cheap beer/ So what? / Fuck you!”

Speaking of cheap, the next song on the album goes along with that theme as well. “Stoked And Broke” is another incredible track by FIDLAR. Also very raw and gritty, this song is about being a teenager, doing drugs, hooking up, and just hanging out with your drunken friends, not having a goddamn care in the world.

“Whore”, the 5th track on the album is one of the only songs to step away from the alcohol and drugs and shares with the listener an oh too familiar feeling, what it feels like after a failed relationship. “How could you go betray me? / You’re such a whore/ I stay at home drinking / You’re such a whore.” Is the opening line to the song and it’s also the chorus. While the song doesn’t have many verses, it’s acceptable and goes very well with the rest of the album.

The only other song on the album to shy away from addicting substances is “Max Can’t Surf”. This track is very similar to a track off of an old blink-182 album, it’s comical, and it tears Max, FIDLAR’s drummer, a new one. If you ever get the chance to see FIDLAR live, they’ll play this song and Max will drum, not missing a beat, while smoking and working on those “2 packs a day”.

The whole FIDLAR album is all about what it’s like to be young and living in a damaged economy. With raw sound and emotion, FIDLAR is the band that will bring punk rock back. Already having played Metallica’s Orion Music Festival this year, the band will be going on tour again this month starting on September 19th in Santa Ana, CA. Make sure to see if they’re visiting your city!


Listen to the full album:

Follow FIDLAR:






Related posts:


Leave a Reply

Connect with AMPKICKER


  • OVG News - Gaming News You Need To Know
  • Whipping Post - Handmade Leather Goods for the Musician
  • Write For Ampkicker
  • Archive

  • Categories

  • Search

  • Links