• Jun : 16 : 2017 - SPOTLIGHT: FAR AWAY STABLES – New Album ‘Between Rage and Serenity’
  • May : 31 : 2017 - Eclipses for Eyes – POLARIS Album Review / Video
  • Feb : 4 : 2017 - STARSET – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 19 : 2016 - SILVERSUN PICKUPS – Live Photo Gallery
  • Aug : 12 : 2016 - Spotlight: COLD SUMMER Release ‘Fight To Survive’ EP (Listen & Watch) [Post-Hardcore, Punk Rock]

Australian bnad Birds Of Tokyo have posted a new studio update video. The video covers the making of their new EP This Fire to be released October 5th, and a new full length coming in March 2013.



From the bands website:

For this epic rock band the last year has been all about change and renewal and that experience is infused throughout the “This Fire” EP.

First there was the addition of two new members (Glenn Sarangapany on keys and Ian Berney on bass). For various reasons the three original members (Ian Kenny – vocals, Adam Spark – guitars and Adam Weston – drums) all relocated from their hometown of Perth to new cities across the eastern seaboard. Then they consciously reinvented their approach to songwriting with a new Sydney studio space plus time spent together in a remote French farmhouse helping to blaze new trails for the group. And if that wasn’t enough they then went to Los Angeles to record with both a new producer, Dave Cooley (Silversun Pickups) and a new mixer, Tony Hoffer (M83, Beck, The Kooks, Belle & Sebastian).


Their broadening musical palate is particularly apparent on the pulsing title track “This Fire” and on the aching meditation, “Boy”, which also features on the EP. This time around the hard edged guitars give way to a more textured approach in counterpoint with hazier keyboard atmospherics. It’s an incendiary brew that grows more intoxicating with each listen.

In addition to sounding fresh the “This Fire” EP sees the band attacking different lyrical themes. While not overtly political or preachy there’s a recurring motif of people coming together which reflects the increasingly interconnected world in which this music was created. In fact the title track is nothing less than a clarion call for togetherness.

“At some level those lyrics probably reflect the way the band itself was coming together”, reflects Ian Kenny. “We collaborated a lot more on this music for a lot longer than we’ve ever spent before. We consciously set out to stretch ourselves in every possible direction and hopefully that shows.”

The EP provides an early taste of the new Birds Of Tokyo album which is currently nearing completion. The as yet untitled set is scheduled for release in March 2013. In addition to the tracks on “This Fire EP” other songs from the hugely anticipated album are likely to be showcased when the band lights up for a handful of shows in late 2012 including Rockit (with the Black Keys) and Homebake.

Album Cover

Related posts:


Leave a Reply

Connect with AMPKICKER


  • OVG News - Gaming News You Need To Know
  • Whipping Post - Handmade Leather Goods for the Musician
  • Write For Ampkicker
  • Archive

  • Categories

  • Search

  • Links